Map of the Canadian Provinces

Renamed Nova Scotia

NOVA SCOTIA/ACADIA is a province of eastern Canada, consisting of a mainland peninsula, Cape Breton Island, and numerous small islands.

The peninsula is connected to the mainland by the isthmus of Chignecto. Cape Breton Island is separated from the peninsula by the Strait of Canso. Nova Scotia is one of the Maritime provinces, along with Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick; it is also one of the Atlantic provinces (the Maritimes plus Newfoundland). Halifax is Nova Scotia's capital and largest city.

The first attempt by the French to establish a permanent settlement in Canada took place in Nova Scotia (then Acadia) at Port Royal (now Annapolis Royal). Nova Scotia was known to the French as Acadia, possibly after the Mi'kmaq word meaning plenty.

The 19th-century American poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow immortalized the land in his poem Evangeline, which, in a mixture of fact and fancy, concerns itself with the life of the Acadians, who were deported and exiled from Acadia by the British. Nova Scotia is the Latinized form of New Scotland and was the name given by the British.

NEW BRUNSWICK - is a province in eastern Canada. It is the largest of the three Maritime provinces, the others being Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. It is also one of the four Atlantic provinces, which include the Maritimes plus Newfoundland.

New Brunswick is bounded on the west by the state of Maine, on the north by the province of Québec, and on the southeast by Nova Scotia. To the northeast lies Chaleur Bay (Baie des Chaleurs). To the east are the Gulf of Saint Lawrence and Northumberland Strait, which separates New Brunswick from Prince Edward Island. To the south is the Bay of Fundy.

Fredericton is the provincial capital, and Saint John is the largest city. With its many streams and rounded, forested hills, New Brunswick has the rough charm of the uplands of New England. Timber cut from dense forests is floated on swift-flowing streams to pulp and paper mills. The ice-free port of Saint John is important to the Canadian economy; however, this importance has been lessened by the opening of the Saint Lawrence River ports to winter navigation.

During and after the American Revolution (1775-1783) many United Empire Loyalists, people who supported Britain during the war, fled to New Brunswick and settled in such great numbers that the province has been called the Loyalist Province. Before British settlement, the French had called the Maritime lands Acadia.

Source: New Brunswick Microsoft® Encarta® Encyclopedia 99. © 1993-1998 Microsoft Corporation.

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND/Ile ST-JEAN - is the smallest province of Canada. It is one of the Maritime provinces (along with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) and one of the Atlantic provinces (the Maritimes plus Newfoundland and Labrador).

The island resembles a crescent, and it lies in the Gulf of Saint Lawrence between 15 and 32 km (9 and 20 mi) from New Brunswick and Nova Scotia across Northumberland Strait.

The provincial capital and largest city is Charlottetown. The province is named for Edward Augustus, duke of Kent and Strathern, a son of George III of Great Britain.

Many of the islanders are farmers, carrying on a mixed livestock and crop agriculture. The fact that almost one million acres, or nearly three-fourths of the island, was once farmland has given it the nicknames of the Million-Acre Farm and the Garden of the Gulf. Potatoes are a major crop.

© Lucie LeBlanc Consentino
Acadian & French Canadian Ancestral Home
1998 - Present

Please Navigate This Web Site
Using The Sidebar To The Left
If You Do Not See A Sidebar Click Here